Collected Poems: 1937-1967
August Derleth

August Derleth's Collected Poems, originally published in 1968, has become one of his most sought after books. It reflects this prolific author's observations of man and his environment in a gentle voice that reminds one of Robert Frost and Edgar Lee Masters and of the homage he pays to Thoreau.

The nearly 300 poems in this collection were culled from a score of his books and are those that the author felt most deeply about preserving. They reveal a poet of penetrating insight and sensitivity. Derleth was a greatly gifted writer whose many talents and creativity have never been adequately appreciated in his native country.

Collected Poems is part of Derleth's famed Sac Prairie Saga that includes such outstanding journals as Walden West, Return to Walden West, Wisconsin Country; novels like Evening in Spring, Shield of the Valiant, Still is the Summer Night; short story collections like Sac Prairie People, Country Growth, Wisconsin in their Bones; and many books for young readers.

In a writing career that began at age 15, in 1924, until his untimely death in 1971, Derleth never left his roots in Sauk City, Wisconsin. He wrote and edited more than 150 books and operated a publishing company devoted to fantasy fiction. He was also for many years the literary editor and a columnist for the Capital Times of Madison, Wisconsin. Derleth was one of the most versatile and important writers about middle America of his time.

Milwaukee Journal: "Many of the poems are impressive in a kind of quiet, persistent, even-tempered manner. Derleth at his best and that best is very good indeed."

Cover photo by Edgar Obma

Hard Cover with Dustjacket, 254 pp.
ISBN 1-896032-70-2 @ $28.00